Freezer Meals For Postpartum Days

freezer-meals

image

I’ve been working on compiling a list of freezer meals that I can make in the next couple of months to have on hand for February and the days/weeks/months beyond, when we may not feel like cooking much and will be too busy with our new little bundle to bother. I keep seeing all these lists that make it seem super easy, like “14 Freezer Meals In 1 Hour” and getting all excited, but then when I look at the meals included, almost none of them actually look good or like something we would want to eat. I don’t care how easy it is, I’m not going to start making those crock pot or casserole recipes that call for a can of cream of mushroom soup. I know I’ll be a tired zombie right after baby, but I’m not willing to let all health go out the window and those ‘cream of’ soups are so bad for you. It’s shocking how many of these recipes call for it.

Anyway, I have found a couple new recipes that look good and worthwhile, and I’ve also added a few tried and true recipes that I know we like and that freeze well to the list, and this is what I’ve come up with so far.

Postpartum Freezer Meals:

White Chicken Chili Looks delish. I love chili but the Mr doesn’t like tomatoes so this white one looks like the way to go.

Corn Black Bean Burgers This is a favorite around here. Healthy and yummy.

Indian Chicken Burgers These look good. Another way to eat chicken in an easy to hold format!

Stovetop Mac & Cheese Everyone loves mac & cheese. This one looks like a winner.

Beef Burritos I would do these without the rice I think.

Broccoli Cheese Soup Yum this looks like a cozy February meal.

Coconut Lentil Soup This is already another favorite in our house. Filling and freezes great.

Spaghizza I know I shouldn’t plan my postpartum meals around pregnancy cravings, but I haven’t been able to get enough pepperoni pizza lately and I just have to believe this will still look equally as amazing after the baby.

Buffalo Chicken Taquitos These look so flavorful and also easy to hold/eat while you have your hands full.

Sausage & Peppers I’d do a variation of this, cut everything up and freeze in a bag, then just thaw and sautee to eat.

Now I just need to decide if I will take everyone’s word on these recipes, or if I should try them all out before I make a batch to freeze, to make sure they’re good! I might need to try that mac & cheese one this week either way 🙂

One thought on “Freezer Meals For Postpartum Days

Leave a Reply

