Healthy Coconut Granola

I have always loved granola but don’t love how expensive it can be at the store or all the added sugars that get put into it, making it less good for you than you think. I never thought about making it myself until the beginning of this summer when I kept seeing recipes for it that looked amazing and even my mother told me she made some homemade granola and it was great. I ended up combining a lot of different recipes I saw and throwing in whatever I thought looked like it would be a good addition, and ended up with a super simple, unique granola that is worth making every week or so to have on hand. It makes a yummy, filling breakfast, or you can have a small bowl or a dry handful for a satisfying snack. I end up having it right before bed when my tummy starts grumbling and nothing else sounds good.

Coconut Granola

I like to make this on a Sunday afternoon while doing chores around the house. It’s super easy to make, but you do have to keep an eye on it in the oven to make sure it doesn’t start to get too brown– it can literally be a matter of seconds when it goes from toasted to burned. Making a jar of this makes it feel like I’ve done something to prepare for the week and I like knowing I have something healthy to eat whenever I’ll need it, no matter what comes up!

:Coconut Granola:

INGREDIENTS

2 1/2 cups Oats

1/2 cups Sliced Almonds

1/2 cups Coconut (shredded, flaked, or combination)

1/4 cups Flax Seeds

1/4 cups Sunflower Seeds

1/4 cups Chia Seeds

1/4 cups Maple Syrup

1/4 cups Coconut Oil

ASSEMBLY

Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Mix together oats, almonds, flax, sunflower, chia seeds in a large bowl. In a separate small bowl combine maple syrup and coconut oil (if it gets thick, microwave for ten seconds and stir again). Pour syrup mixture over oat mixture and stir to incorporate. Spread onto baking sheet in an even layer and bake for ten minutes. Remove from oven and carefully mix with a wooden spoon so that the pieces that were on top and browning get mixed back in. Spread back out into even layer and bake ten more minutes. Remove from oven again and add coconut, mixing carefully to combine. Spread back out and make for ten more minutes. You may want to mix it up again halfway through this time, depending on the size of your coconut (big flakes that stick out more will burn faster so you will want to stir it after five minutes again). Once it is all looking nice and toasty light brown, remove from oven and let cool. When completely cool, pour into a glass jar to store.

Leave a Reply

