Peanut Butter Banana Nutella Dessert Smoothie

One of the first purchases we made for our new home when we were buying the house was our nice blender. We seriously bought it right away and it came months before we were even able to start moving into the house. It killed me to see it sitting there in it’s box every single day and not be able to take it out and use it. I think the anticipation of getting to try it out and the deprivation of not getting to use it made me use it even more once I finally could. I really didn’t even make smoothies or anything in a blender that often before, even when I had one. I think part of it was due to the fact that it always seemed like such a pain to hoist it out of its cabinet every time, and also I never had a very nice one so it didn’t work very well anyway. peanut butter banana nutella smoothie

Now our shiny beautiful blender sits right on the counter. It has had prime real estate ever since we first set up the kitchen. And it gets a lot of use! I use the blender almost every day, and sometimes more than once a day. I love a smoothie in the morning (although I usually have it as more of a mid morning snack because I often want something more substantial when I first wake up). And especially in the summer, with all kinds of fresh fruit andberries around, it can make the perfect afternoon pick me up. There are all kinds of different things you can blend up, and while I generally stick to fruit smoothies, I also sometimes blend my iced coffee into a kind of homemade frappuchino, or do a peanut butter banana smoothie if I want something a little more decadent. This peanut butter banana Nutella one tastes like dessert, but it’s only got one scoop of chocolate in it. (And I know plenty of people who don’t even consider Nutella the same as chocolate- it’s a snack! It’s breakfast! It can be anything, apparently). With the peanut butter, banana, and greek yogurt, it’s a snack that will get you through the rest of your day, but with a little extra sweetness that makes you think you just might be drinking a milkshake. And that’s always a treat.

:Peanut Butter Banana Nutella Dessert Smoothie:

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup Greek yogurt (plain or vanilla)

1 banana

2 tablespoons peanut butter

1 tablespoon Nutella

1/2 cup milk

1 cup ice

ASSEMBLY

Combine all ingredients in a blender. Blend on smooth until smooth. Add more ice to make it thicker, if desired.

Leave a Reply

