Cheesy Italian Herb Popcorn

Growing up my family never had a microwave. I didn’t notice it was that weird really, as I had never been used to having one and never really thought twice about it until friends would come over and find it shocking that we didn’t have one. The only time I ever missed having a microwave was once I discovered microwave popcorn. It was the biggest treat ever for me when I would go over to my friends’ houses and be able to make microwave popcorn during sleepovers. It’s still one of my favorite treats, although shortly after discovering it, I also discovered how bad it was for you and realized I should not be eating it much. Even once I had my own microwave in college I would only buy microwave popcorn once in a very blue moon.

cheesy italian popcorn

One upside to the whole growing up with no microwave thing, was that I knew how to make stovetop popcorn from a very young age. Yes, we did still eat popcorn when I was young, and for a while I didn’t even realize that there was another kind besides what my family made, which was a whole different genre of popcorn. While stovetop and microwave popcorn are two totally different things, I have always also loved stovetop popcorn too. One of the best parts is that you can customize it so much. Our go to in my family was to pour melted butter over the popcorn and add brewers yeast. Later on, I discovered different options and began playing around with other toppings. One of my current favorites is parmesan cheese with some garlic powder and Italian seasonings. A bit of all my favorite things!

:Cheesy Italian Herb Popcorn:

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup popcorn kernels

1 tablespoon vegetable oil

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 tablespoon parmesan cheese shake

1 teaspoon salt, plus additional shake

1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning

shake of pepper

ASSEMBLY

Place medium pot over medium-high heat and add vegetable oil and popcorn kernels and a shake of salt. Place top on pot and give it a good shake so that the kernels are covered by the oil and distributed along the bottom of the pot. Let sit until popcorn starts popping, giving additional shakes to the pot periodically to mix it all up and keep the kernels moving. Once you can count more than three seconds between pops, turn off the heat and pour popcorn into a large bowl. Add seasonings and mix it in. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

