Coconut Waffles with Whipped Cinnamon Butter

Waffles are undoubtedly one of the best breakfast foods out there. I personally tend to go for pancakes on a more regular basis because I love them and they always seem much easier, but there’s something about waffles that just seem a little bit more special. It’s like pancakes are for breakfast, but waffles are for brunch. I used to love waffles and I still do, but I haven’t actually had a waffle iron in a while so I haven’t been making them myself. No joke, I got a Belgian waffle iron for my graduation from elementary school. It’s the only thing I wanted and the only thing I mentioned when my parents said they wanted to get me something to celebrate. But, it’s been at my parents house ever since because when you get kitchen appliances at such a young age it tends to merge into the other family household appliances and by the time I moved out I didn’t even really think of it as mine and didn’t even think to take it. Anyway, once we had that Belgian waffle maker we never used our plain old regular waffle maker again.Coconut waffles with cinnamon butter

Luckily, my family is the sort that never throws a thing away so I had the good fortune of inheriting the old regular waffle maker the last time I visited because my mother had finally dug it out of a cabinet and set it aside to decide if they should get rid of it. I am now the proud and happy owner of a waffle maker again, albeit a 20 year old one. It still works! I decided to embrace regular waffles again. After all, who says you always must be in the mood for a light and fluffy, thick Belgian waffle? I wanted to make a regular thin waffle that could hold it’s own. Enter, a hint of coconut and whipped cinnamon butter. There really is no question that these are some of the best waffles you could make.

:Coconut Waffles with Whipped Cinnamon Butter:

INGREDIENTS

1 3/4 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tablespoon sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

3 eggs

1/4 cup butter, melted

1 1/2 cups milk

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon coconut extract

For the butter:

2 tablespoons butter, softened

1 teaspoon cinnamon

ASSEMBLY

Combine flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in a bowl. In another bowl whisk eggs, butter, milk and extracts together. Add wet to dry ingredients and whisk together. Pour onto hot waffle iron, about 1/2 to 3/4 cups depending on your iron probably, and close until iron indicates that it’s done. Meanwhile, place the softened butter in a bowl and add cinnamon, whipping by hand or with an electric mixer until the two are completely combined and the butter has reached a soft, fluffy consistency. Top warm waffles with butter. Drizzle with maple syrup if desired.

Leave a Reply

